The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Apr 18th, 2024, 11:37pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
sub schematic can not be edited (Read 1917 times)
jay_lin

big capacitor

sub schematic can not be edited
Jun 05th, 2005, 7:59pm

teachers:

I am a beginner in using the Cadence to draw schematic, in the past I can descent into a sub schematic for editting from a symbol, but resently when I descent into a sub schematic, I find that it can not be edited, I don't know what happend, and who can tell me how to correct this.

Thanks a lot

Regards
Jay
View Profile   IP Logged
Andrew Beckett
Senior Fellow

Life, don't talk to
me about Life...

Bracknell, UK
Re: sub schematic can not be edited
Reply #1 - Jun 6th, 2005, 9:17pm

Did you use Design->Hierarchy->Descend Edit or Design->Hierarchy->Descend Read? Perhaps you were using a bindkey which is bound to the Descend Read function? (look at the bindkey indicator next to Descend Read on the Hierarchy menu to see if it is what you're using).

Can you use Design->Make Editable? If not, take a look at the CIW (Command Interpreter Window) for any messages. Perhaps it's because it is genuinely readonly, or perhaps it is because it is locked - someone else (you perhaps?) has it open for edit in another session.

Regards,

Andrew.

View Profile WWW   IP Logged
jay_lin

big capacitor

Reply #2 - Jun 6th, 2005, 9:35pm

Andrew,

Thank you very much! It is OK now, just as you said, each time I needed to select the "make editable" to edit the sub schematic yesterday, but this morning the work-station was reset, and every thing is OK.

And last Friday I can not close my computer normally, maybe some schematics are still openning, so it result in sub schematic not editable.

Regards and have a nice day

Regards
Jay
View Profile   IP Logged
trond

Glasgow, Scotland
Reply #3 - Jul 19th, 2005, 2:52am