The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Mar 28th, 2024, 6:39am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Metal fuse and poly fuse (Read 9349 times)
ywguo
Community Fellow

Shanghai, PRC
Metal fuse and poly fuse
Jul 03rd, 2008, 7:13pm

Hi Guys,

As well known, there are both metal fuse and poly fuse. It opens a window above the poly fuse. The window is combined with PAD window. Based on my understanding, the remaining glass on the poly fuse is very thin so that it will be burn out when the poly fuse is blown out. Right?

Question 1. Is there the same window above a metal fuse?
Question 2. Does metal fuse need much more current to blown out because of its much lower sheet resistance?

Thank you in advance.
Yawei

View Profile   IP Logged
HdrChopper
Community Fellow

Re: Metal fuse and poly fuse
Reply #1 - Jul 17th, 2008, 7:21pm

Hi Yawei,

IŽm not an expert but I have some experience with poly and metal fuses.
I think you are correct concerning the poly fuse remaining glass being thin.
As for question 1) I'm not totally sure, but certainly it is always better to use the upper metal layer so that heat is dissipated as much as possible during blowing. When blowing metal fuses there is always a trade off involved between amount of energy required and speed. If you go to slow with your pulse youŽll need a lot of current density, while if you go too fast the current density is much smaller but you might end up getting leakage. This trade offs is more noticeable when using metal fuses of lower metal layers.

Question 2) is simpler: the answer is definitively YES.

Hope this helps.
Tosei

Keep it simple
View Profile   IP Logged
loose-electron
Senior Fellow

Best Design Tool =
Capable Designers

San Diego California
Reply #2 - Aug 3rd, 2008, 3:43pm

Poly fuses with an oxide opening are commonly used when doing a laser cut trim of the fuse. The poly cuts more cleanly with a laser than metal. (splatters)