The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Sep 27th, 2024, 4:29pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Bandgap Frequency responce (Read 8046 times)
raja.cedt
Senior Fellow

Germany
Bandgap Frequency responce
Nov 05th, 2009, 8:15am

hi,
  i am new to bandgap design, i had couple of questions on that

1.Why none of the book is discussing frequency response, normally how much phase margin people target?

2.I feel op amp output is the best place to compensate, because by   putting cap between vdd and opamp output any noise in the vdd won't enter in the circuit, but in one paper they claimed that this will cap will increase noise, can any one please explain this.

3. How to decide error amp bandwidth?
Thanks,
Rajasekhar.

View Profile WWW raja.sekhar86   IP Logged
Mayank
Community Fellow

Re: Bandgap Frequency responce
Reply #1 - Nov 5th, 2009, 11:19am

hi raja,

Quote:
1.Why none of the book is discussing frequency response, normally how much phase margin people target?

Maybe, noone talks about bandgap frequency response because bandgap is a very slow circuit...

Quote:
2.I feel op amp output is the best place to compensate, because by   putting cap between vdd and opamp output any noise in the vdd won't enter in the circuit, but in one paper they claimed that this will cap will increase noise, can any one please explain this.

No, i agree with the paper...Placing a cap b/w opamp o/p node and VDD will directly couple any high frequency Noise into the ckt...thereby degrading PSRR at higher Frequencies...

Quote:
3. How to decide error amp bandwidth?

I am myself not much sure about this....But i guess, you choose it depending on the noise profile of your supply, and the BW of the bandgap ckt.Maybe some senior can help...

--mayank

View Profile   IP Logged
Vladislav D
Community Member

The Netherlands
Reply #2 - Nov 5th, 2009, 12:51pm

raja.cedt wrote on Nov 5th, 2009, 8:15am:
hi,