The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Apr 24th, 2024, 9:04am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
analog circuits synthesis tools (Read 14169 times)
koma

analog circuits synthesis tools
Jan 04th, 2011, 1:49pm

dear all,

I am new to the tools used for analog circuit design so I have some questions regarding the capabilities of the tools and the best tools to use.
in digital design I used to write an RTL code in verilog, synthesize it to generate a a gate level netlist file...i just wanna ask if we have the same procedure in analog circuits design..I started looking for verilog AMS which allows me to write the behavioral model for a certain analog block but am worried if i can take this code to generate a transistor level circuit with certain transistor sizes or synthesize it and do place and route .
I have access to cadence tools that i am using to write my verilog ams code.

regards,

View Profile   IP Logged
Andrew Beckett
Senior Fellow

Life, don't talk to
me about Life...

Bracknell, UK
Re: analog circuits synthesis tools
Reply #1 - Jan 5th, 2011, 5:30am

See http://www.designers-guide.org/Forum/YaBB.pl?num=1165836451/2#2.

Whilst various synthesis tools have been created for specific classes of circuits, there aren't really any good general solutions. Years ago I wrote (along with some colleagues) a switch capacitor filter synthesis tool, which worked pretty well - but it was targeted at one specific type of circuit.

So normally it needs a designer to "synthesize" the design from a high level spec (or model) to transistor level (of course, you may be able to build the design from existing blocks such as opamps, data converters, comparators, etc).