The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Mar 28th, 2024, 7:11am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
good scope for SERDES evaluation? (Read 1823 times)
carlgrace

Berkeley, CA
good scope for SERDES evaluation?
Nov 10th, 2011, 12:25pm

Hope this is the right forum for this.  My organization is looking at the possibility of designing high-speed serial links to integrate with out image sensors.  We would need something like 1 - 10 GB or more eventually.  Really this is just a what-if at this point.  I'm not an expert in serial comms so I'm wondering what would be a good scope for testing our homemade SERDES?  Like, for 10 GB/s links, how fast a scope do we need?  Are there specific models designed for this?  Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction before I do too much research and fall down the rabbit hole.

Carl

View Profile   IP Logged
raja.cedt
Senior Fellow

Germany
Re: good scope for SERDES evaluation?
Reply #1 - Nov 11th, 2011, 12:46am

hello,
for testing at 10GBps if you have 10G BERT, 10G PRBS, signal generator which can support up to 10G and sampling scope is fine i guess for validating internal loopback and external loop back.

Thanks,
raj.

View Profile WWW raja.sekhar86   IP Logged
carlgrace

Berkeley, CA
Reply #2 - Nov 11th, 2011, 10:16am

So I got a little more information.  It seems I need a scope with at least 1.5X the bandwidth of the bitrate (based on third harmonic of 1010101 pattern).  So a storage scope with 15 GHz input bandwidth would work.  Can I do the BERT with an FPGA based solution?

View Profile   IP Logged
loose-electron
Senior Fellow

Best Design Tool =
Capable Designers

San Diego California
Reply #3 - Nov 11th, 2011, 10:20am

Homemade SERDES?

LOL!

Why don't you get in touch with the manufacturers representatives for Agilent (HP) Tektronix, LeCroy, etc and ask for their reccomendations.