The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Mar 28th, 2024, 6:21am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
How to compare Matlab/Theory <=> Cadence: Switched-cap. integrator: Mag (Read 2315 times)
bernd2700
Community Member

How to compare Matlab/Theory <=> Cadence: Switched-cap. integrator: Mag
Jan 15th, 2021, 2:10am

Dear guys,

Ken Kundert said to post here.

I tried to compare the simple switched-capacitor integrator below between Cadence and Matlab (at the end acting as a simple loop-filter for a delta-sigma) and I am stuck now on the point of how to compare the 2 results CORRECTLY because of the additional sample & hold maybe (?) needed and instantiated in the Cadence schematics.

I have read Ken Kundert’s papers:
*) “Simulating Switched-Capacitor Filters with SpectreRF”, and
*) “Device Noise Simulation of Delta-Sigma Modulators”.

I’m an electronics engineer, but not a mathematician, and so, from the practical point of view I have not found a good answer for me from the internet, therefore I would be very happy, if you could give me a practical advice.

Block schematics and timing diagram:

Transfer function for this circuit (confirmed by e.g. [Richard Schreier, “yellow” Delta-Sigma book, p.337]):

vo/vi =(-Cs)/(Cf)∙z^(-0.5)/(1-z^(-1) )

I also calculated the theoretical magnitude and phase at fs/2 (with ideal opamp and with Cs = Cf = 1). It yields “+j/2” which is 0.5 magnitude (-6 dB) and +90° phase.

Cadence circuit:

As Ken Kundert writes in his papers, I am interested upfront in the discrete-time (DT) behavior, thus I have attached his S&H circuit next to the output “Vo”. It is sampling just a few moments before the rising edge of phase p1, so should be equivalent the read-out at rising edge of p1 at time point “n*T” indicated in the block diagram (node “Vo_ext”) and match with the theoretical result.

Cadence results:

Matlab result: