The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Mar 28th, 2024, 8:42am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
N-Path Mixer NF (Read 1698 times)
strawberries52

N-Path Mixer NF
Apr 13th, 2021, 10:24pm

Hello,

This is my first post on the forum! I am a student so thank you and bear with me.

I am working on an 8-path mixer design, and trying to measure the Noise Factor. I am using a LO of 2.485GHz.

Currently, the bandwidth of the mixer is right, it appears that S11 is about -26 dB, I believe the design seems OK.

I am having trouble getting results that seem right for NF using pnoise analysis in Cadence.

I'm not sure the correct way to do this - it seems that for a downconversion mixer you usually use -1 as refSideBand, but that doesn't make a lot of sense here, since the LO and RF frequencies are equal.

When I set the refSideBand to -1, with the beat frequency set as 2.485GHz and measure NF at baseband, the NF is really high, like 10-20 dB which seems way too high!

I've attached some photos of the schematic, my simulation results, the schematic (it only shows a few of the 8 paths) and the pnoise analysis setup.

Any tips would be appreciated.

eight_path_sim_results.png
View Profile   IP Logged
strawberries52

Re: N-Path Mixer NF
Reply #1 - Apr 13th, 2021, 10:24pm

I realized it will only allow me attach one image per post.

eight_path_schematic_cropped.png
View Profile   IP Logged
strawberries52

Reply #2 - Apr 13th, 2021, 10:25pm

eight_path_pss.png
View Profile   IP Logged
Ken Kundert
Global Moderator

Silicon Valley
Reply #3 - Apr 14th, 2021, 5:26pm

Ignore the term 'beat frequency'.  This was a misnomer that was put into ADE from the very first days of SpectreRF and was never fixed.  The proper term is 'fundamental frequency'.

In your case the fundamental frequency is the LO frequency (2.485 GHz).