The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jun 28th, 2024, 5:17pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Differential Inductor design/simulation in ADS Momentum (Read 19905 times)
tkhan

Differential Inductor design/simulation in ADS Momentum
Jul 31st, 2008, 9:29am

Hi, I am new to EM softwares and I want to use ADS Momentum to design structures which are not in our PDK pcell library. I have designed a differential inductor but I'm not sure how to simulate it properly, specifically what type of ports to use so i can determine the inductance and quality factor. I put differential ports on the two terminals, but i am not getting 2port s-parameters. any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

View Profile   IP Logged
tkhan

Re: Differential Inductor design/simulation in ADS Momentum
Reply #1 - Jul 31st, 2008, 1:44pm

i forgot to add a center tap to the inductor, and i put the port as common mode, associated with the differential port. now i am getting 2port sparameters but i'm not sure if this is the correct simulation setup...

View Profile   IP Logged
pancho_hideboo
Senior Fellow

Real Homeless
Reply #2 - Jul 31st, 2008, 4:40pm

View Profile WWW Top+Secret Top+Secret   IP Logged
tkhan

Reply #3 - Aug 4th, 2008, 6:20pm

hi. thank you for your reply, but i am still not clear what kind of ports to use. differential for the two input terminals and common mode for center tap? thanks.

View Profile   IP Logged
pancho_hideboo
Senior Fellow

Real Homeless
Reply #4 - Aug 4th, 2008, 8:24pm

tkhan wrote on Aug 4th, 2008, 6:20pm:
but i am still not clear what kind of ports to use.

See ADS's momentum manual and text book on microwave engineering basic.

tkhan wrote on Aug 4th, 2008, 6:20pm:
differential for the two input terminals and common mode for center tap?

Use Single Port for all three ports(pins).
Then you can calculate any mode S-parameter from three port S-parameter.