The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 16th, 2024, 4:56pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
what kind of verilg-A model need for a PLL AC sim? (Read 6953 times)
bluestatic

what kind of verilg-A model need for a PLL AC sim?
Jan 25th, 2006, 2:08am

hi experts,
I'm new to verilog-A and AMS sim, currently try to build a verilog-A model for a PLL design to predict its performance. As a start, I'm using the "pllLib" provided along with IC50 as an reference.
My question is :

1. It is true that I must have a phase domain model to analysis PLL AC response(loop gain and phase margin), and then I have to build another voltage domain model to analysis PLL's transient response?

2. How did you guys proceed the AC analysis on a PLL in general case. Will you build up a verilog-A model, or you just do it directly with actual schematic?  If I do it directly, will it take very long machine time.

3. I read ken's article on PLL jitter modeling, and try to use his  VCO model http://www.designers-guide.org/VerilogAMS/functional-blocks/vco/vco.va,  I guess it is not problem for a transient sim, but can I use it for AC sim?

many thanks

View Profile   IP Logged
Jess Chen
Community Fellow

California Bay Area
Re: what kind of verilg-A model need for a PLL AC
Reply #1 - Jan 25th, 2006, 10:51am

Quote:
1. It is true that I must have a phase domain model to analysis PLL AC response(loop gain and phase margin), and then I have to build another voltage domain model to analysis PLL's transient response?