The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 3rd, 2024, 1:40pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Harder to converge in Monte Carlo sims??? (Read 4698 times)
PaulFerg

Harder to converge in Monte Carlo sims???
Aug 15th, 2006, 3:43pm

I'm a novice at Verilog-A, but I've got the book and I'm learning.  I'm using Spectre to simulate a DAC at the transistor level, and am using a Verilog-A block to generate "digital" stimulus for the transistors.  I'm using a transition statement to create a finite rise and fall time for my signals, but I continually get the error:

Convergence difficulties resulted in error requirements being unsatisfied.

The convergence errors come at the instant the transistion starts, as if the "corner" is too sharp, and the simulator can't handle it.  I was able to get around the problem for a while by slowing the transition from 100 ps to 300 ps, then inserting a simple RC filter at the interface. so it seems that it smooths the signal at the transistor inputs enough that they don't get lost.   But now I'm trying to run a Monte Carlo sim, and the error is back, and to the point where I can't complete a simulation.  I tried inserting a $discontinuity(1); after my @cross, and that helps, but I still get warnings, and each Monte Carlo run that actually manages to finish still takes 10 times as long to run as the reference Spectre one.

So, is there something inherently different about the Monte Carlo simulation that is causing problems?  Is there something special I should be doing at the output of a decoder to make it so I don't need the RC filters?  For now I plan to keep reading and hopefully I'll find that there is something I should be doing that I just haven't learned yet, but from what I understand, the transition statement should be enough.  

I'm open to suggestions...

View Profile   IP Logged
Geoffrey_Coram
Senior Fellow

Massachusetts, USA