The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 19th, 2024, 2:23pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Hspice model file in Spectre (Read 1304 times)
xwcwc1234

TAIWAN
Hspice model file in Spectre
Sep 01st, 2006, 3:10am

Hi,
 I am new to spectre . Now I want to simulate my circuit with Spectre use Hspice model file that provide by foundry . Could anyone of you help me in this regard of by providing spectre simulation statements required for this requirement ?

View Profile   IP Logged
byang
Community Member

Re: Hspice model file in Spectre
Reply #1 - Sep 1st, 2006, 8:35pm

Hi, xwcwc1234,

In Spectre, you can use simulator lang=spice to include HSPICE model file. I am wondering why you want to use Spectre simulator but have HSPICE model file. Doesn't the foundry provide Spectre model file too?

Baolin

View Profile   IP Logged
xwcwc1234

TAIWAN
Reply #2 - Sep 6th, 2006, 2:01am

Hi byang,
  Thanks for your reply. Indeed , the foundry did not supply Spectre model file , only hspice model file available.
When I use spp to convert Hspice model file to Spectre's , some warning messages show as below :
   `ng.1': `nlev' is not a valid parameter for `bsim3v3' models.
   `ng.1': `acm' is not a valid parameter for `bsim3v3' models.
   `ng.1': `calcacm' is not a valid parameter for `bsim3v3' models.
   `ng.1': `sfvtflag' is not a valid parameter for `bsim3v3' models.
   `ng.1': `vfbflag' is not a valid parameter for `bsim3v3' models.
That means  some Bsim3v3 parameters of Hspice level 49 are not recognized by Spectre . I use Spectre 4.4.6 , is that too old ?

View Profile   IP Logged
Geoffrey_Coram
Senior Fellow

Massachusetts, USA
Reply #3 - Sep 6th, 2006, 6:53am

xwcwc1234 wrote on Sep 6th, 2006, 2:01am:
I use Spectre 4.4.6 , is that too old ?

That's verging on ancient ...

If at first you do succeed, STOP, raise your standards, and stop wasting your time.
View Profile WWW   IP Logged
Andrew Beckett
Senior Fellow