The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 22nd, 2024, 9:22am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
PFD/CP transfer using ADE (Read 8984 times)
Visjnoe

PFD/CP transfer using ADE
Feb 08th, 2007, 12:01pm

Dear,

I'm pretty new to Cadence's ADE and Ocean, therefore I would look some advice on the best 'way to go'.

Normally, I would sweep the phase difference (linear) between -2PI and 2PI, run a transient for each phase difference and extract the average output current.

Is this something that can be set up easily under ADE or would OCEAN be preferred?

Kind Regards

Peter

View Profile   IP Logged
Andrew Beckett
Senior Fellow

Life, don't talk to
me about Life...

Bracknell, UK
Re: PFD/CP transfer using ADE
Reply #1 - Feb 8th, 2007, 6:59pm

Peter,

You could do this with either. You can use the Parametric Analysis Tool (Tools->Parametric Analysis) to set up the sweep, and then use a calculator expression to plot the average current - this will then plot the average current versus the swept parameter.

There's no particular need to do this with OCEAN - it should be easy enough with ADE.

Regards,

Andrew.

View Profile WWW   IP Logged
Visjnoe

Reply #2 - Feb 11th, 2007, 9:30am

Dear Andrew,

I was able to set up the parametric analysis using ADE. However, it seems I cannot have this run over corners
using the Corner Analysis Tool.

Could it be that this can only be set up using OCEAN scripting (using a parametric analysis statement in combination with a corner run functional call?)

Kind Regards

Peter

View Profile   IP Logged
Visjnoe

Reply #3 - Feb 12th, 2007, 12:36am

Andrew,

I noticed strange behavior when performing a parametric sweep analysis of the PFD: when I plot the average output voltage, strange 'outliers' appear (see picture in attachment), where on would expect a straight line through the origin