The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 19th, 2024, 10:17pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
VCO PSRR simulation set-up Spectre (Read 8239 times)
Visjnoe

VCO PSRR simulation set-up Spectre
Mar 07th, 2007, 9:34am

Hello,

I'm new to Spectre/SpectreRF and I'd like to discuss the best approach to simulate the PSRR (or actually the influence of supply noise/ripple) on the jitter/phase noise of my VCO.

Now, I know that there's this PXF analysis, but that's not quite what I want (I think) since what I understand from the examples in the manual, this will calculate the xf function from the supply towards the output.

I would like to superimpose a square wave/switching wave on the supply (emulating digital circuitry) and assess than the jitter/phase noise.

I think PSS is not the way to go here, since I'm dealing with a combined autonomous/driven circuit.
QPSS assumes two driving signals (I guess), so I'm a bit stuck here...any suggestions are more than welcome.

Regards

Peter

View Profile   IP Logged
Visjnoe

Re: VCO PSRR simulation set-up Spectre
Reply #1 - Mar 7th, 2007, 10:18am

Dear all,

I figured out 1 approach which uses transient analysis:

superimpose a sine/square wave on the supply and check the output frequency. For e.g. a sinusoidal wave on the supply, the deviation from the average output period will (most likely) also be sinusoidal.

Since this type of jitter (coming from supply noise) is deterministic, we could stick with transient analysis.
However, we are most likely to incur a simulation time penalty.

Therefore, any pointers on a PSS approach are still more than welcome...

Regards

Peter

View Profile   IP Logged
Frank Wiedmann
Community Fellow

Munich, Germany
Reply #2 - Mar 7th, 2007, 11:45pm