The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 16th, 2024, 4:34pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
cascode current source (Read 6523 times)
Croaker

cascode current source
Apr 23rd, 2007, 8:44am

Hi, I'm pretty new to Verilog-AMS and was wondering how I can get a reasonable model of a cascode current source.  I'd like to be able to have a triode and saturated mode, and a suitable output resistance.  I'm not trying to re-invent the wheel here, so if a good model exists, please let me know!  Thanks!

View Profile   IP Logged
Croaker

Re: cascode current source
Reply #1 - Apr 23rd, 2007, 2:07pm

Right now I'm modeling it as a piecewise linear function...but I'm all ears if there's a better way to model it.  I think I've captured the basic DC Ids vs. Vout curve, although it's pretty approximate around the point where the current starts to saturate.

View Profile   IP Logged
mg777

Reply #2 - Apr 24th, 2007, 10:08am

I'm curious why you wouldn't use a Spice model. If you're using the cascode in a self-referenced source, then it makes sense to model the start-up circuit behaviorally. But I'd still keep the cascode in Spice.

M.G.Rajan
www.eecalc.com

View Profile   IP Logged
Croaker

Reply #3 - Apr 24th, 2007, 11:29am

The goal is to replace transistors with a simpler model for faster simulation.  Verilog-A seems most useful when you're modeling a lot of transistors with some equations, but something like UltraSim with simplified transistor models is better for blocks where you want to capture the transistor characteristics.

View Profile   IP Logged
krishnap
Community Member

Reply #4 - Apr 24th, 2007, 11:51pm

How about using the schematics in spice for normal mode of simulation and
using the tool like AMS designer to compile it , when the faster simulation
is required for the analog blocks?

Regards,
Krishna

View Profile   IP Logged
Croaker

Reply #5 - Apr 25th, 2007, 5:00am