The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 17th, 2024, 4:40pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
how to model a vccap? (Read 1487 times)
ricky

how to model a vccap?
Nov 24th, 2008, 11:16pm

hello,everyone
I am a beginner of verilog-a.I am working on a CDC(cap to digital converter).i need to model a vccap. this is my code:
   module c_module(c_p,c_n,vp,vn);
    inout c_p ,c_n,vp ,vn;
    electrical c_p,c_n,vp,vn;
    parameter  c0=1.0;
    real c;
    analog begin
            c=c0*V(vp,vn);
            I(c_p,c_n)<+c*ddt(V(c_p,c_n));
     end
 endmodule

but error found by spectre as follows:
   an operand dependent on the output of a dot() operator (dynamic expression) can not be used in a multiplication opeeration when the other operand is dependent on a probe or the simulation time.
consider using a node to hold the dynamic expression and probe this node in the multiplication operation.

thanks for your help!
ricky

View Profile   IP Logged
Geoffrey_Coram
Senior Fellow

Massachusetts, USA
Re: how to model a vccap?
Reply #1 - Nov 25th, 2008, 3:43am

This has been covered already in this forum (and elsewhere), but it's faster to fix your code than to find the reference:

analog begin
           I(c_p,c_n) <+ c0 * ddt( V(vp,vn) * V(c_p,c_n) );
    end

The current is ddt of the charge, q=CV; since both V's depend on time, you need both inside the ddt.

If at first you do succeed, STOP, raise your standards, and stop wasting your time.
View Profile WWW   IP Logged
Frank Wiedmann
Community Fellow

Munich, Germany
Reply #2 - Nov 25th, 2008, 4:14am

View Profile WWW   IP Logged
ricky

Reply #3 - Nov 25th, 2008, 6:32am

thanks a lot!

View Profile   IP Logged
ricky

Reply #4 - Nov 25th, 2008, 7:18pm

hi Geoffrey_Coram,
i think that i made a mistake in my describing. Embarrassed
my vccap is a four teminals device,and (vp vn) is a control signal which is  irrelevant to (v_p,v_n).