The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Apr 23rd, 2024, 6:30pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Error message (Read 6351 times)
littlepig

Error message
Feb 25th, 2009, 11:41pm

Hi all,

I am new with VHDL code..

I try to run the sample code from http://www.designers-guide.org/Modeling/fc_jtol_src_ns.vhd with quartus2 and received several errors shown below:
Error (10500): VHDL syntax error at InputJitter.vhd(29) near text "sj_out";  expecting ":", or ","

Partial of the code..
library IEEE;
use IEEE.MATH_REAL.all;
library IEEE_PROPOSED;
use IEEE_PROPOSED.electrical_systems.all;
entity sj_src is
     port (
           sj_freq : in real;
           sj_amp : in real;
           freq : in real;
           terminal sj_out : electrical);       ---this is line 29
end sj_src;

I suspect that in quartus2, it doesn't has the library IEEE_PROPOSED and aren't able to use IEEE_PROPOSED.electrical_systems.all..

Is it possible to download the library file?? Where can I download??

Thanks..

View Profile   IP Logged
Andrew Beckett
Senior Fellow

Life, don't talk to
me about Life...

Bracknell, UK
Re: Error message
Reply #1 - Feb 26th, 2009, 9:52am

You may be able to use IEEE instead of IEEE_proposed. I've seen a number of examples from before the VHDL AMS standard which called it IEEE_PROPOSED (for example in Ashenden et al's book http://www.amazon.com/System-Designers-VHDL-AMS-Systems-Silicon/dp/1558607498/re...)

However, I'm not familiar with QuartusII so I can't answer your specific question.

Regards,

Andrew.

View Profile WWW   IP Logged
littlepig

Reply #2 - Feb 26th, 2009, 10:25am

Hi andrew,

I have tried using IEEE library but I still received the same error message.. I think that my IEEE library don't have electrical_system..

View Profile   IP Logged
Ken Kundert
Global Moderator

Silicon Valley
Reply #3 - Feb 26th, 2009, 10:32am

I believe you need VHDL-AMS. Does QuartusII support VHDL-AMS?

-Ken