The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Apr 24th, 2024, 6:36am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Measuring input impedance (Read 7811 times)
rajath

Measuring input impedance
Dec 26th, 2002, 8:44pm

Hi,
    I'm a newbie here, so pardon me if this has already been asked before.  I've  designed a CFB amplifer, and would  like to  measure it's ac input impedance ( the -ve terminal). Can anyone please suggest me a method of doing this with the  spectre simulator?

thanx.

View Profile   IP Logged
Ken Kundert
Global Moderator

Silicon Valley
Re: Measuring input impedance
Reply #1 - Dec 27th, 2002, 12:10am

Rajath,
   In general one measures input impedance by first applying an input using small-signal voltage source and then calculating the input impedance by dividing the applied voltage by the resulting current that flows in the input source. Having said this, I suspect you are asking about something more subtle. However, I cannot give you any more information because I am not sure what a CFB amplifier is, or what a -ve terminal is. I assume that CFB stands for current feedback, but I don't yet see how measuring the input impedance of a current feedback amplifier would differ from doing the same for voltage feedback amplifier. Perhaps you can describe the situation in more detail?

-Ken

View Profile WWW   IP Logged
rajath

Reply #2 - Dec 27th, 2002, 12:36am

I'm sorry for not explaining my problem fully. Actually I use the affirma  environment with the simulator being Hspice. Strangely,  this simulator does not allow me to plot the  terminal current when running the AC analysis.  I just  realised that  this  problem doesnt arise when i use the  spectre simulator, but I don't have the model files  for it Sad .
Of course I can always put  a resistor  in series and  find the current, but  is there a "classier" way ?!