The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Mar 29th, 2024, 1:24am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
LO leakage in direct conversion??????HELP (Read 6787 times)
Jing

LO leakage in direct conversion??????HELP
Oct 25th, 2003, 9:28am

Hello,
             I am an university student. I use Cadence to analyze the LO leakage of direct conversion Gilbert cell mixer. It is well known that LO selfmixing is quite serious, sometimes the DC offset can saturate the following circuit. However, my simulations show me that LO feedthrough is not serious at all, when LO = -10dBm, LO feedthrough at RF port = -110dBm. I feel quite strange. Some papers often said their mixers have LO leakage around -40dB or -50dB.
            I have used two methods to obtain the LO leakage. One is PSS+ PXF to get the LO signal gain at the RF port with RF source as DC, the other is only PSS analysis to get the RF port signal at those harmonics of fundermental frequency, therefore the signal power at LO frequency is obtained. Both of the two methods give me very low LO leakage.
            I wonder whether the methods are right or wrong. I am looking for a CMOS Gilbert cell mixer circuit with poor isolation, high LO feedthrough. If somebody has, wound you be so kind to share it to me? Please send it to my Email box
" patrick_hot@163.com ", thanks a lot.

View Profile   IP Logged
pancho_hideboo
Senior Fellow

Real Homeless
Re: LO leakage in direct conversion??????HELP
Reply #1 - Oct 25th, 2003, 3:08pm

You don't include parasitic effects due to physical layout.

But without them you can observe large LO->RF leakage.

Your circuit under simulation is perfect ideal and symmetrical ?

Actual gilbert cell is not ideal DBM.
So try to set your circuit in non-ideal situation.
For example,
  * make LO+ and LO- unbalanced
  * make transistor quad or diff-pair unbalanced.
  * make bias resistor unbalanced
  * make loads unbalanced
  etc.