The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 5th, 2024, 10:27am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
PSS/PAC analysis with SpectreRF: double sampling (Read 7588 times)
reuben

PSS/PAC analysis with SpectreRF: double sampling
Jun 15th, 2004, 6:05am

Hi all,

I am using SpectreRf to run a PSS/PAC analysis on a switched-current circuit (a bit like SC). I have been using the simulator on these circuits for a couple of years now with great sucess. I have recently tried to simulate some circuits which have double sampling (sampling on both high and low phases of the clock) which means the clock is 1/2 of the sample frequency. The PSS form insists I use the clock frequency to do the operating point analysis about, but of course this does not work correctly since it is only half the sample frequency. I can put a divide by two after the clock so that the clock frequency equals the sample frequency, but PSS analysis does not seem to converge.

Any ideas?

Cheers,

Reuben

View Profile   IP Logged
Frank Wiedmann
Community Fellow

Munich, Germany
Re: PSS/PAC analysis with SpectreRF: double sampli
Reply #1 - Jun 15th, 2004, 7:33am

The PSS analysis cannot converge if the simulation period is not an integer multiple of all signal periods in the circuit (integers including 1). PSS analysis tries to match all signals at the beginning and at the end of the simulation period, which is impossible if this condition is not fulfilled. It is possible to fool the PSS form, but the PSS analysis will punish you with nonconvergence in this case.

In your circuit with double sampling, you definitely have two different sampling instants during the clock period and there is a priori no reason why the sampled values at both instants should be identical. You will probably have to live with this fact and find a way to compute your results from the values at both instants.

View Profile WWW   IP Logged
reuben