The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 19th, 2024, 9:25am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
1/f3 noise. (Read 416 times)
judean

1/f3 noise.
Feb 22nd, 2006, 8:57pm

Hi,
I know about the 1/f noise in oscillator.But this diagram shows the presence of 1/f4,1/f3 and 1/f2 apart from 1/f.
What is the reason of the presence of the 1/f4..1/f2 values in the phase noise diagram.How can it be avoided or reduced in our design work.

types-of-phase-noise.gif
View Profile   IP Logged
vivkr
Community Fellow

Re: 1/f3 noise.
Reply #1 - Feb 23rd, 2006, 1:47am

Hi,

I am not an oscillator expert, but don't you think that the increase in the slope as you get closer and closer
to the resonance frequency is due to the very fact that the oscillator transfer function shoots to Infinity at this
frequency (or a very large value for a real oscillator).

How would you measure the phase noise at such close frequency offsets reliably? In fact, if you went even closer,
I bet you might even see steeper slopes on your dB curve.

I would say that you ought to look at the noise contained in a certain bandwidth at a certain offset from the resonance
frequency. For instance, at 1 uHz from the resonance, you may see a huge figure for your curve, but then you are unlikely
to notice this in your application unless you let your oscillator run for an incredibly long interval and measure all the noise
in this long period.

I would recommend that you read the papers by Hajimiri and Lee or some other good reference.

By the way, where do you have this figure from?

Regards
Vivek

View Profile   IP Logged
judean

Reply #2 - Feb 23rd, 2006, 3:02am

Hi Vivek,
Thanks a lot for the answer.I will try to come back after reading the papers.
This was a question I was asked,and i found it on the net.
Regards
V

View Profile   IP Logged
Ken Kundert
Global Moderator

Silicon Valley
Reply #3 - Feb 23rd, 2006, 4:53pm