The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Aug 17th, 2024, 7:23pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Current sources in the subthreshold region (Read 12100 times)
Visjnoe

Current sources in the subthreshold region
May 10th, 2006, 3:12am

Hello,

as an analog/mixed-signal designer, I'm a bit biased (I think) to ensuring that current sources remain in the nice saturation region
over all PVT variations.

I'm wondering if there's something wrong/dangerous about biasing current sources (e.g. current source of dif pair) in subthreshold due to e.g. voltage headroom limitations?

Let's assume all PVT simulations + Monte-Carlo come out nicely, are there still reasons not to do this?

I've heard people stating that transistors in the subthreshold region won't match. When I say that any performance degradation would pop up in Monte Carlo simulations, they claim that these sources of error are not in the foundry transistor models.

Does anyone have more experience/insight on this?

Kind Regards

Peter

View Profile   IP Logged
vivkr
Community Fellow

Re: Current sources in the subthreshold region
Reply #1 - May 10th, 2006, 4:33am

Hi Peter,

I think it is undesirable to place current mirrors in weak inversion. Let me list some reasons:

1. Matching is poor. Current mismatch in current mirrors will get worse with smaller (VGS-VT). In fact,
it should normally be quite poor in weak inversion regime.

2. Noise from the current mirrors will shoot up. By placing transistors in weak inversion region, you are maximizing
Gm/I for these devices. As a result, the noise contribution is significant, especially if the current mirror happens to be
used in an opamp as an active load. Of course, then you would also have to worry about its speed.

3. The mirror will be very slow. It is worth remembering that even if you are simply using the mirror to feed in a DC current,