The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Sep 17th, 2024, 2:22pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Resistor mismatch in 10bit DAC (Read 2293 times)
Vabzter

Sweden
Resistor mismatch in 10bit DAC
Jan 15th, 2007, 12:17am

Hello everyone,
                       I am designing a 10bit DAC in 90nm technology. The topology is Inverted Resistive ladder DAC and I am refering the IEEE paper "A Low Power Inverted Ladder D/A Converter" by Yevgeny Perelman and Ran Ginosar" for the design.I have the following general design questions:
1. How to find out the effects of resistor mismatch in DAC. Which simulations do I perform?
2. Is there and way to find an optimum value of resistances so that the mismatch will be less.
3. Can the mismatch be controlled in the layout only? Or is there and steps I need to so in the design of ladde DAC.
                      I am new to design so any help would be appreciated..
Thanks a lot in advance,
BR,
Vabzter

View Profile   IP Logged
Visjnoe

Re: Resistor mismatch in 10bit DAC
Reply #1 - Jan 15th, 2007, 8:54am

Hi Vabtzer,

I have not read the paper yet, but I would proceed in the following manner:

1. Try to find/come up with equations to relate the INL/DNL performance of your DAC to the resistor matching.
   Based on those, write a MATLAB Monte-Carlo script that gives you yield in function of resistor matching.
   Based on the required resistor matching, determine the size of your resistors. I guess there will not be an optimum for the resistor sizes, just a lower bound (i.f.o DAC yield)

2. Verify the equations and assumptions you made in step(1) using Monte-Carlo simulation in your preferred    simulator. If simulations are too time-consuming to run completely at the transistor level, replace all non-critical parts by an AHDL model.