The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 18th, 2024, 2:23pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Phase noise simulation of divider and PFD (Read 9807 times)
paulcktang

Phase noise simulation of divider and PFD
Feb 02nd, 2007, 11:56pm

Hi all,

I am a new student working on simulation of phase noise of PLL. Currently I am working on simulation of frequency divider and PFD. However, I don't know why I can't get correct simulation result of phase noise. I got corect result for VCO.

I know for VCO, during my simulation in Pnoise, I can choose Oscillator. However, for divider and PFD, I can't do that. Can anyone tell me how to setup the phase noise simulation for divider and PFD? I can't find information from spectreRF user manual as it only describes simulation of VCO.

Thank,
Paul

View Profile   IP Logged
seho

Re: Phase noise simulation of divider and PFD
Reply #1 - Feb 5th, 2007, 12:32pm

Hi Paul,

the simulation of phase noise of dividers and PFD/CP is described in Ken's paper:

http://www.designers-guide.org/Analysis/PLLnoise+jitter.pdf

To simulate the divider phase noise drive the divider with a clock signal and use pss and pnoise to get the phase noise. The beat frequency is the output frequency of the divider.

I'm not sure how to simulate the phase noise of the PFD directly, because it commonly has two outputs (up and down). In my work I simulate the output current noise of the PFD/CP combination with pss and pnoise analysis. The PFD is driven with clock signals with a phase difference, that the cp is switching. The cp current noise is converted to voltage noise by the loop filter impedance and this voltage noise generates phase noise at pll output by modulating the vco.

Kind  Regards

Sebastian

View Profile   IP Logged
paulcktang

Reply #2 - Feb 5th, 2007, 1:48pm