The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 22nd, 2024, 11:24pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
BRIEF, NXX Statement in Hspice (Read 7303 times)
qiushidaren
Community Member

I am a lovely
MOSFET!

Chengdu
BRIEF, NXX Statement in Hspice
Feb 05th, 2007, 12:55am

Hi all,

I am studying Hspice right now. In Hspice manual it says like this:
BRIEF, NXX: Stops printback of the data file, until Hspice finds an .OPTION BRIEF=0, or the .END statement. It also resets the LIST, NODE, and OPTS options, and sets NOMOD. BRIEF=0 enables printback. NXX is the same as BRIEF.

But I still can't understand this kind of explanation, what does "printback of the data file" mean here, and what's NXX? Thank you in advance!

Regards,
Terry

View Profile WWW   IP Logged
Geoffrey_Coram
Senior Fellow

Massachusetts, USA
Re: BRIEF, NXX Statement in Hspice
Reply #1 - Feb 5th, 2007, 5:32am

When you run HSpice, it usually echoes the entire input file -- and included libraries! -- to stdout, or to the log file.  Often, you don't care to see the libraries spewed to the screen.  The manual is saying you can:

.OPTION BRIEF

or

.OPTION NXX

and get the same behavior (suppress echoing).

If at first you do succeed, STOP, raise your standards, and stop wasting your time.
qiushidaren
Community Member

I am a lovely
MOSFET!

Chengdu
Reply #2 - Feb 5th, 2007, 6:10am

Geoffrey_Coram wrote on Feb 5th, 2007, 5:32am:
When you run HSpice, it usually echoes the entire input file -- and included libraries! -- to stdout, or to the log file.  Often, you don't care to see the libraries spewed to the screen.  The manual is saying you can:

.OPTION BRIEF

or

.OPTION NXX

and get the same behavior (suppress echoing).

Hi Geoffrey, do you know what does NXX stand for here, BRIEF means brief, but how about NXX, I really can't guess out where do these acronyms come from.

Geoffrey_Coram
Senior Fellow

Massachusetts, USA