The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 16th, 2024, 3:36pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
help: what is RF circuit? (Read 2776 times)
thlcak

help: what is RF circuit?
Feb 28th, 2007, 8:10pm

Hi all,

Please don't laugh.  I am a digital circuit design engineer and the only thing I know about RF is the wide spectrum from DC to 300GHz.  Since this is RF design forum, would anyone explain to me what exactly is RF circuit designer?  Is Op-amp a RF circuit? PLL? counter?

Thank  you.

View Profile   IP Logged
mg777

Re: help: what is RF circuit?
Reply #1 - Feb 28th, 2007, 8:54pm

The only person I'd laugh at is myself.

RF typically means wireless. Most RF carriers are in the 100 MHz to 5 GHz range owing to antenna size, modulation bandwidth, and atmospheric propagation. At the high end USB type wireless interfaces are being designed as high as 60 GHz. The wireline Gbps interfaces (like the SATA hard disk cable) are usually called high-speed to distinguish them from RF.

While RF signals used to be essentially sinusoidal, today's ultra wideband (UWB) RF signals have modulation rates approaching the carrier. Both amplitude and phase modulation are employed, with massive digital layers for modulation as well as error correction. The modulation is typically performed by a DSP while the error correction is either hardwired logic or a specialized embedded processor. The analog part of RF mainly deals with the antenna interface, up/down conversion, carrier synchronization, and analog-digital conversions. Other important analog pieces supporting the basic RF interface are power management, battery chargers, lighting/display drivers, and cameras.