The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Apr 17th, 2024, 11:04pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
use which tool to build the model for pll? (Read 8782 times)
calven

use which tool to build the model for pll?
Apr 05th, 2007, 6:40pm

hi!i am a freshman in pll.i wonder which tool i should use to build the model for pll.my teacher told me to use spw,so i am learning it.is it a good tool for pll?i find it is designed for complex systems,is it?what can we benefit from spw compared with matlab?
 can anyone give me some advice,thanks!

View Profile   IP Logged
mg777

Re: use which tool to build the model for pll?
Reply #1 - Apr 6th, 2007, 12:19am

AFAIK, SPW is an expert level tool for large designs, requiring an in-depth knowledge of writing and compiling C code. You'd use SPW when you have significant amounts of embedded target code that needs to be simulated in a system context.

Matlab is a simpler tool (from a price standpoint) that takes the pain out of matrix manipulation. It's got serious capability augmented by a number of toolboxes, and is routinely used by IC designers for system simulation. As a beginner I'd say go with Matlab. The choice of SPW needs to be made in the context of a design team tackling, for example, a large SoC.

M.G.Rajan
www.eecalc.com

View Profile   IP Logged
calven

Reply #2 - Apr 6th, 2007, 6:42am

thanks a lot!
 in fact,i want to know the first step of designing a pll.must the behavior model be built?today, i tried to build a macromodel(maybe not right) just using cells offered by cadence .for example,i used the vco in functional lab,filter in the rfLib and so on.i want to replace these cells using the real cells.how about this process,what is the correct process?give me some help and advice!
  thanks!

View Profile   IP Logged
Jess Chen
Community Fellow

California Bay Area
Reply #3 - Apr 6th, 2007, 7:32am