The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Aug 17th, 2024, 9:18pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Laser transmitter design (Read 4029 times)
neopl

Laser transmitter design
Apr 11th, 2007, 8:25am

Hello everyone, I am totally new to RF design and would like to seek some help in designing a simple laser transmitter. When I am trying to evaluate the performance of my laser transmitter, I noticed that there is significant jittering in the eye diagram when I input a PRBS signal to it. (Please refer to the attached photo.)

Is there any way I can reduce the jitter?

I have kept my design rather simple as I am new to RF design.
DC + RF signal (using a bias tee) - SMA connector - SMA connector on PCB - PCB track - damping resistor (for impedance matching) - PCB track - laser

My RF signals is generated using a high frequency function generator.

I have a few questions regarding RF design:
1. When do we use transmission line theory (TLT) to design the width of the track? If the PCB track is about 30mm, do we need to apply TLT?
2. Because the PCB track has to be broken up into two, due to the damping resistor, is there any PCB layout rule I must apply?

I have tried everything I can to remove the jittering, but it does not seem to help. I hope that one of the experts out there is able to spot some obvious omissions on my part to help me with the design. If you need for information, please let me know! Thanks.

Poh Ling

CIMG7177.JPG
View Profile   IP Logged
mg777

Re: Laser transmitter design
Reply #1 - Apr 11th, 2007, 6:55pm