The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Aug 17th, 2024, 9:17pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
a basic question about the pll (Read 4280 times)
calven

a basic question about the pll
Apr 21st, 2007, 12:43am

hi!
i am a freshman in pll.i am reading best's book.i wonder if my understanding is right.
the book builds a linear model assuming the pll is in the locked state and the reference frequency is equal to the  frequency of the divider's output signal(PD is a multiplier).but when the model is actually used,the reference frequency is not the same with the frequency of the divider's output signal(such as the referency frequency increases to another) while the pll is still in the locked model.why the model is still valid?we consider that the reference frequency does not change ,but the reference phase changes like a ramp function?
give me some advice,please
thanks a lot

View Profile   IP Logged
calven

Re: a basic question about the pll
Reply #1 - Apr 21st, 2007, 7:55am

i find i do not understand the concepts clearly!my questions are as follows:
1.the pll  is in the unlocked state when either the frequencies or the phases are different?
2.the linear model is strictly valid only when both frequencies and phases are equal?
3.but we can consider the circuits is approximately linear and use the transfer function to get some approximate results if the change of the frequency is small(so the phase change is small)?
4.if the frequency change is small,the circuit change quickly from the nonlinear state to the approxiately linear state when we can use the transfer function?
5.we can use the transfer function to get the setting time ,but we have to use the nonlinear model to get the acqusition time?
thanks a lot

View Profile   IP Logged
adesign
Community Member

Reply #2 - Apr 25th, 2007, 9:57pm