The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Apr 25th, 2024, 10:25am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Career guidance for fresh graduates? (Read 89 times)
topquark
Community Member

Thames Valley, UK
Career guidance for fresh graduates?
Jun 05th, 2007, 2:34am

hello folks!
It's summer time- another batch of EEs graduate across different corners of the globe to start on their careers.
Having been a part of the forum for a while, I really value the opinion of experts here who've diverse experiences in this volatile IC design domain.
As for myself, I'm a microelectronics graduate with analog design major just started out on a job hunt and also have had a quick offer.
Before I jump to make a decision, I thought I'd get some guidance from folks here.

I'd request members to share views 'n opinions on the following points:

1. RF- boom?!!
Well, it appears having RF on your CV is a big plus today!!not to talk about the starting salaries  8-)
But, my RF's just limited to course work. But, do you think starting out in A/MS one can further career in RF?
or, only the other way round?

2. Working in a big company like a Can't tell corp, or jackass instruments (sorry, no offence) versus start-up houses which may boom 'n bust! ...like analog IP providers, fabless design shops that have sprung up everywhere!
it was insightful reading the post by Rajan-
http://www.designers-guide.org/Forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171388673

how true is that that one 'grows' faster in a smaller co?

3. type of work: many grads treat the RF/wirleless domain as hot as compared to some instrumentation/control application!
but, how much does the application domain matter when we'll start out designing building blocks like amps, bandgaps etc..which are used in all chips?? (specs will be different, of course)

4. how to evaluate risk-reward ratio : ur learning, ur future prospects vis-a-vis how the company is doing??