The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 2nd, 2024, 10:32pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
FASTEST OPAMPS? (Read 2941 times)
pavlosEMP

FASTEST OPAMPS?
Jul 11th, 2007, 7:02am

Hello everyone,

I m a new member here, i just came across this forum, and i find it rather useful. To begin with,
does anyone know, what is the most solid criterion to evaluate how fast an opamp is?

I mean is it GBWP, Slew rate,BP? what?

As far as i know it must be GBWP. And if so, what is the highest GBWP of an opamp achieved today, or some list with the opamps having the greater GBWPs?

thanx in advance!

View Profile   IP Logged
imtired

Santa Rosa
Re: FASTEST OPAMPS?
Reply #1 - Jul 16th, 2007, 5:43pm

(I am an amateur so please be patient with me if I err in my comments.)

In my mind, fastest means to be able to respond to the input signal and faithfully reproduce it at the output, with or w/o gain.  So I would say that slew rate and BW are the main factors in determining the speed of an op-amp.  The problem with GBWP is, even though you can have a really large GBWP, it does not mean your BW is high, and often is the case where a really large gain (low BW) is required to maintain stability.  Therefore if you have a hgh frequency signal other than a fixed sinusoid, the output waveform will experience distortion due to the early roll-off of a high gain, high GBWP opamp.  You'll also have to make sure that your op-amp is capable of driving your load.

View Profile   IP Logged
ywguo
Community Fellow

Shanghai, PRC
Reply #2 - Jul 19th, 2007, 6:46pm

Hi,

It strongly depends on the application. It is more valuable to discuss if you specify where the opamp is used, what the input signal is, etc.

Yawei

View Profile   IP Logged
pavlosEMP

Reply #3 - Jul 24th, 2007, 6:13am