The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Aug 17th, 2024, 1:18pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
RF design tips (Read 2636 times)
imett

RF design tips
Oct 11th, 2007, 1:39am

hello to everyone,
i'm a new rf designer and i've to ask some question about the rf design layout that i don't understand:

in many rf boards (evaluation boards) there is a hole , not plated,  near the rf components like ad8353...LMH6624 etc

usually for RF i use a pcb with all the bottom connect to ground and a spot top ground; to avoid the ground loop i've to connect the active components to the top ground or with a vias to the bottom?

many board use ,for a signal trace, use many vias to ground to reduce the ground impedence, it is necessary use thi technique?

Thanks in advance.
Matteo

View Profile   IP Logged
didac

There's a million
ways to see the
things in life

manresa,spain
Re: RF design tips
Reply #1 - Oct 15th, 2007, 1:58am

Hi imett,
I was waiting to see if someone more experiencied than me could help but I will try anyway. When you are talking about in which ground you should connect the component I really don't understand what you mean, there's only one ground, the ground plane in the bottom; the component should connect to a copper spot filled with bias to make a good (ideally free of parasitic) ground.
My suspect about this hole you see at evaluation boards is that it's a non-standard fiducial mark for automatic pick&place machines(usually local fiducial for fine pitch component is a solid circle of copper with solder mask cleared and a good clearance, but I see machines that are able to handle with any geometry).
You said that many board filled the ground along the signal trace with bias,are the using this configuration?:
GND
SIGNAL
GND