The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Mar 29th, 2024, 12:49am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
help needed to design a class F power amplifier (Read 8474 times)
akrathi

help needed to design a class F power amplifier
Oct 22nd, 2007, 1:54am

Hello to all,
I am very new to RF designing and I am a student... I am designing a class F PA for LINC TX(outphasing transmitter), I am using cadence spectra tool to design PA and I have couple of questions...
1. how to simulate the envelope simulation using spectra... since my PA is for EDGE communication standard so I have to respect the Mask, so I have to see whether my PA output spectrum is meeting the EDGE mask or not, in cadence how to generate the I/Q baseband signal and do rest of the signal processing to feed input singal into my PA. I suppose this is possible through matlab+Virtuoso AMS+simulink coupler, but I don't have license for AMS tool. is there any other way to generate the baseband signal? I have ADS tool (since I don't have STM models files for ADS so I can't use ADS) lets say I will generate the baseband signal from ADS and save it into .dat file, so does it is possible i can use this .dat file into cadence to simulate envelope simulation.
2. is there any other way to check my PA linearity? since my PA is switched kind of amp(not linear like A, B, AB and C) so I can't sweep my input signal power (which is fixed 1.2V square pulse coming from divider ckt after VCO) and also this is a large signal, but PSS and PSS + PAC simulation is only for small signal... looking into these fact dose IIP3 or ACPR are making any sense to switch PA amplifier (these spec is for linear PA I suppose), so how do I check my output mask requirement. can I do two tone test using pss (I can apply two tone spaced by 200kHz channel small signal into my vco and check the IP3 IP5 etc... using pss simulation and if results are good I can assume my PA will meet the mask...