The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Aug 15th, 2024, 8:12am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
AM_PM Conversion, Power Amplifiers (Read 229 times)
Faisal
Community Member

AM_PM Conversion, Power Amplifiers
Oct 31st, 2007, 11:03am

Hi everybody,

I am working on narrow band power amplifiers. I make a AM_PM plot in SpectreRF using a PAC modulated analysis. But I have been unable to understand its significance/utility? (I am sweeping frequency from the carrier center-frequency to some offset around)

Kindly explain a bit in detail, i am a newbie in RF

View Profile   IP Logged
didac

There's a million
ways to see the
things in life

manresa,spain
Re: AM_PM Conversion, Power Amplifiers
Reply #1 - Oct 31st, 2007, 1:11pm

Hi Faisal,
You should think in terms of digital modulation. Consider a 16-QAM modulation, you have the 16 sixteen dots with their detection bounds clearly defined, if you have an excessive AM to PM conversion one of the symbols can drift to a position near the bound of their neighbour, in other words you are starting to degrade BER of the system just in the transmitter and you are reducing the margins for fading and noise that would be added by the channel and the receiver.
Hope it helps,

View Profile WWW   IP Logged
Faisal
Community Member

Reply #2 - Nov 1st, 2007, 3:00am

Hi Didac,

Thanks for the reply. I have a binary PSK modulation i.e. constant envelope and its narrow bandwidth too. How to relate the results of the PAC modulated analysis AM-PM or PM-PM with the theoretical calculations in the text books

Kind Regards,
Faisal Mateen.

View Profile   IP Logged
didac

There's a million
ways to see the
things in life

manresa,spain
Reply #3 - Nov 1st, 2007, 10:01am

Hi,
Long time since I've performed this kind of things but If my memory not fails the procedure is the following(please double check with other sources):
1)From data of AM-AM,AM-PM calculate Error Vector Magnitude(EVM).