The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 18th, 2024, 1:21am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
low-power receivers (Read 4782 times)
aaron_do
Senior Fellow

low-power receivers
Jan 16th, 2008, 8:16pm

Hi all,

i've been researching low-power receiver design for a few years now, but one thing has always bugged me. Commercial receivers use a lot more current than those reported in literature (academic research) despite comparable performance.

Some things i've noticed are that most of the designs in literature concerning receiver design do not include an ADC (although some do), but commercial designs tend to report the current consumption of the whole receiver including baseband and DSP. Commercial designs also seem to include calibration for just about every component, while those in literature tend to live with what they get in terms of LO amplitude, and sometimes even channel select filter center frequency etc.

So i'm hoping for some advice from experienced designers. Where does all the power go? Is it simply to improve the robustness of the circuits? If this is the case, companies developing these chips (TI, freescale...) follow literature when choosing their designs and simply make them more robust?

thanks,
Aaron

there is no energy in matter other than that received from the environment - Nikola Tesla
View Profile   IP Logged
Stefan

Re: low-power receivers
Reply #1 - Jan 17th, 2008, 12:18am

Most of what you're saying is true. However, you must calculate the production costs of a transceiver.
A university can live with 5 out of 10 chips that are actually working, however if a yield of a fab drops below around 90 percent...
Uh - just imagine the costs for testing every chip ... testing for RF performance and alike is quite time consuming and expensive ...
That's why industry needs to spend much more effort on robustness and calibrating structure than you might imagine!