The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Aug 17th, 2024, 11:11am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Impact of PLL frequency divide ratio (Read 3697 times)
sandman
Community Member

Impact of PLL frequency divide ratio
Feb 25th, 2008, 5:06am

Hi,

I'm a newbie in PLL design and was wondering if someone could help me with the following queries.

From the divider of the integer divide by N in the feedback loop of the PLL;

1) How does the frequency divide ratio affect phase noise and settling time ?
2) Does the divide ratio affect the bandwidth or any other parameters in the PLL ?
3) Would there be equations where I could confirm these relation ?

If anyone's aware of resources where I could find this information, that would also be much appreciated.

Any help would be appreciated ! Thanks in advance.

Cheers.

View Profile   IP Logged
tm123
Community Member

Chicago, IL
Re: Impact of PLL frequency divide ratio
Reply #1 - Feb 26th, 2008, 9:32am

Hello Sandman,

-You can think of the divide ratio as the closed loop gain from the input reference phase (input to phase/frequency detector) to the output phase (VCO output in most cases).  This effects the PLL in-band phase noise, to which the contributors are the PFD/CP, N divider, reference divider, basically everything except the VCO and loop filter resistor.  Therefore, a lower N value will give lower in-band phase noise.  The tradeoff of higher/lower reference frequency should also be evaluated when chosing the desired N value.
-The PLL loop filter components should be calculated for a given N value, along with Kd, Kvco, desired phase margin, and desired bandwidth. A larger N value will yield lower capacitor values and higher resistor values with all else being the same, which would increase the phase noise contribution from the resistor itself.