The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 18th, 2024, 3:29am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
151 MHZ Filter Design Questions (Read 3905 times)
kmoravec

Plano, TX
151 MHZ Filter Design Questions
Mar 14th, 2008, 10:28am

I am designing a digital radio transciever for the 151-154 MURS band. I am not a RF designer, but since we could not find someone locally they told me to do it since I have a General Class Ham License.  :)

I have the general design:

For transmitting, I am starting with a Analog Devices ADF7021, amplifying the transmission with a AD8354 RF Gain Block and then going into a ADG919 RF Switch to a LCL pi matching circuit, to an antenna. (I have to be < 2W transmit power)

For Receiving, Starting at the antenna the signal goes through the LCL pi matching circuit, to the ADG919 RF Switch, to the ADF7021.

First question is on the transmitter side. What is standard practice for a low pass filter? Should I put a low pass filter between the ADF7021 and the AD8354 gain block, or between the AD8354 gain block and the ADG919 or in both places? What order of filter?

Second question. On the receive side the datasheet has an "Optional Band Pass Filter". What determines ahead of time, whether I need it or not? I am going to probably put it in to be safe, but what order of band pass do I need? I do not expect a lot of RF signals near by as this will be used mostly in rural areas. What is good practice?

Thanks,
Kip

View Profile WWW   IP Logged
didac

There's a million
ways to see the
things in life

manresa,spain
Re: 151 MHZ Filter Design Questions
Reply #1 - Mar 14th, 2008, 1:51pm

Hi,
Maybe I'm not the most suitable forum member since I'm more in integrated design than system level but here I go: