The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Apr 29th, 2024, 3:56am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
How to import antenna model from HFSS to Cadence? (Read 13290 times)
Jack

How to import antenna model from HFSS to Cadence?
Oct 12th, 2009, 2:40am

Hi, All,

I am a student in the field of RF circuit design. Now I want add a general standard antenna into my front-end of the receiver to see the match performance between antenna and LNA.

I have checked some references, it seems HFSS cannot simulate the active circuits (am I right?). So I have to export the antenna from HFSS, then import it into Cadence.

I just want add the antenna as a component in cadence like a port.

My question is:
1. How can I export the antenna from HFSS, in which file format, it can match with cadence?

2. If I add the antenna into cadence successfully, how should I build the testbench, because usually we use the port as the input, but if antenna is in the front of LNA, which kind port should be in the front of antenna (should the port with series resistor, like 50ohms)?

3. Compare HFSS with ADS, which one can give the easier solution?

Maybe you can suggest me some website or papers!

If my question is simple or maybe posted befor, please don't mind, actually I have check the posted topics.

Any comments are appreciated!

Thank you in advance!

Jack

View Profile   IP Logged
Jack

Re: How to import antenna model from HFSS to Cadence?
Reply #1 - Oct 12th, 2009, 6:14am

In HFSS, as I know, I can export the return loss (S11), the impedance, and the antenna gain.

First, is there an component in Cadence can import these 3 parameters (S11, gain, impedance) at the same time to perform the characteristics as an antenna?