The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 18th, 2024, 1:34am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
MOS input bias current with esd diodes (Read 3967 times)
sos
Community Member

MOS input bias current with esd diodes
Mar 18th, 2010, 12:44pm

I'm a bipolar designer doing an MOS amplifier chip. The input pad connects to a fet gate plus the usual reverse biased esd diodes to each supply rail.

MOS amplifiers are expected to have picoAmp input bias currents. This seems like a lot to ask of the leakage in a relatively large esd diode. The foundry simulation models for a single diode show leakage of about 20pA with 5V across it, so they think it works, just a lot lower than I expected. I will appreciate any explanations to improve my intuition.

Steve

View Profile   IP Logged
wave

Silicon Valley
Re: MOS input bias current with esd diodes
Reply #1 - Mar 18th, 2010, 5:29pm

Steve - Nothing wrong with your intuition.

For generic Op-Amps CMOS, standard ESD is fine and most people can neglect the leakage.  Basic pad cells can have nA or uA at temperature.

For a precision devices, you'll obviously need custom ESD that meets your leakage specs.

Good luck,
Wave  :D

View Profile   IP Logged
sos
Community Member

Reply #2 - Mar 19th, 2010, 5:53am

wave wrote on Mar 18th, 2010, 5:29pm:
Steve - Nothing wrong with your intuition.

For generic Op-Amps CMOS, standard ESD is fine and most people can neglect the leakage.  Basic pad cells can have nA or uA at temperature.

For a precision devices, you'll obviously need custom ESD that meets your leakage specs.

Good luck,
Wave  :D

Do you think my foundry's models are reasonable at room temperature? I agree that the leakage should go up a lot with temperature.

Thanks,
Steve

View Profile   IP Logged
love_analog

Reply #3 - Apr 22nd, 2010, 4:37pm