The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 17th, 2024, 8:36am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Power vs Voltage (Read 5217 times)
Seeker

Power vs Voltage
Apr 01st, 2010, 7:28pm

Greetings,

This is my first post here. I am a grad student and just starting to learn RF circuits. I am hoping to learn from this smart forum.

I have been puzzled with these questions for sometime.

The first question is when to treat a signal as voltage and when as power. In conventional low frequency analog circuits, we always deal only in voltages, but why do we shift to power in RF circuits?

Why do we want power matching in RF circuits. It seems like the information is a voltage signal. So, really we should be interested in maximum voltage transfer as opposed to maximum power transfer (?) and in that sense our aim should be to maximize input impedance of stages.

Even in conventional low frequency circuits' output stages when driving a speaker for instance, there is much talk about delivering the maximum power to the speaker when in fact in the preceding amplification stages, we have been amplifying the voltage. Why is this so?

Your insights are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

View Profile   IP Logged
aaron_do
Senior Fellow

Re: Power vs Voltage
Reply #1 - Apr 3rd, 2010, 12:36am

Hi,

I don't know the straight-forward answer to this question because it puzzles me too. I think using voltage is just a simplification (a very accurate one at low frequencies) and in fact we are more generally concerned with power. Bear in mind a few things:

1) For the same voltage, higher resistance implies lower power (V2/R) and smaller bandwidth (Bode-Fano Criterion).