The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Aug 1st, 2024, 3:24pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
any clue on this circuit (Read 6120 times)
ontheverge

any clue on this circuit
Oct 25th, 2010, 7:24am

Hi,

below is part of a ckt, can anybody explain the function of M9(M10), M13 and M14?  and the purpose of the whole ckt?

thanks,
Steve
« Last Edit: Oct 25th, 2010, 2:16pm by ontheverge »  

CKT.JPG
View Profile   IP Logged
raja.cedt
Senior Fellow

Germany
Re: op-amp circuit
Reply #1 - Oct 25th, 2010, 7:47am

hi,
I am guessing about this ckt.  M13 is degeneration resister. M9 and M10 are the common mode feedback for first stage.

Thanks.

View Profile WWW raja.sekhar86   IP Logged
aaron_do
Senior Fellow

Re: op-amp circuit
Reply #2 - Oct 25th, 2010, 8:41am

Hi,

are you sure that it is an op-amp? I'm not an expert on op-amps, but it appears to be some kind of fixed gain cell.

The inner core of the amplifier seems to be a super source follower if you take the transfer function from the inputs to the voltage across M13. i.e, the voltage across M13 follows the input very closely. If M13 is considered a linear resistor, then the Gm of the inner core is quite linear and depends on M13.

The outer part of the amplifier seems to simply be copying the action of M9, M10 and M13. So the gain of the cell appears to be W7/W9.

I'm not an expert on op-amps so I might be way off Cheesy . But I suggest you try simulating the circuit to see. I'm not sure, but it may need some form of CMFB.

cheers,
Aaron

there is no energy in matter other than that received from the environment - Nikola Tesla
View Profile   IP Logged
HdrChopper
Community Fellow

Re: any clue on this circuit
Reply #3 - Oct 25th, 2010, 7:43pm

I'm with Aaron,

M9/10 are super source followers that lower the output impendace of the input followers.