The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 17th, 2024, 3:32pm
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
rules of thumb for EM interference (Read 12899 times)
louis de musset

rules of thumb for EM interference
Nov 11th, 2010, 10:22pm

Helo every body,
I have a question plz. I am a beginner in RF design and i have desjgned a 2,4 GHz LNA. The question is that at the layout level what is the rules of thumb to appky to avoid the electromagnetic coupling betwenn inducance-interconnetion-inductance ??
THanks for your answers
Regards

View Profile   IP Logged
louis de musset

Re: rules of thumb for EM interference
Reply #1 - Nov 12th, 2010, 8:41am

Helo every body,
I am a beginner in RF design. I have designed a CMOS LNA at 2.4GHz and i have finished the layout. Unfortunately, i did not have access to an electromagnetic simulation tool and i must make the necessary precautions to prevent the magnetic coupling between inductances between them, and each inductor with other interconnects.
So is there a method to avoid these couplings that can degrade the performances of the LNA after the fabriation. Or is there a design rule (rule of thumb) that i can follow to avoid this coupling.
Thanks a lot
Best Regards

View Profile   IP Logged
rfmagic
Community Member

Reply #2 - Nov 15th, 2010, 1:20am

Hi,

If you are asking about RFIC design It actually depends on many parameters but I will list the most dominant:

1. if you have an on-chip inductor - you prorbaly would want to isolate it as by it nature it radiate energy- thus I usually keep about 25um from each side of the inductor.

2. if you have 2 metal strips that carry high currents - they also acts like inductors and I ussalyl keep 10um between them.

But the most important think to do is - simulate the suspected paths in electromagnetic simulator such as Momentum or HFSS to make sure that you dont hit radiation from other sources.

View Profile   IP Logged