The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 17th, 2024, 12:33pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Contribution statement (Read 4488 times)
elecky mess

Contribution statement
Mar 24th, 2011, 10:43am

Hello, I'm a newbie to Verilog-AMS, and what I am currently trying to do is to assign some value for a voltage at a port or across a branch in some given condition. For example, my Verilog-A code would be like

Code:
parameter real c = 1.2;
analog begin

@( condition 1 )
V(a,b) <+ c;

if ( condition 2 )
V(a,b) <+ 0;

end 

I actually made something similar to this, and tried to simulate it in Cadence Hierarchy Editor. It uses NC Verilog simulator, right? But whenever I tried simulation, I got errors and they all pointed the lines where "<+" operators were used. The error messages were like

Code:
" ../veriloga.va line xx: Encountered a contribution statement embedded in an analog event.
Remove the contribution statement from the analog event." 

Here I got confused. As far as I know, a contribution statement can actually be used only in an analog event, and it is used to assign an expression to a voltage or a current at a port or branch. I think any real number or any parameter as used in my code is a legitimate expression. If I am right, what's wrong with my code?

View Profile   IP Logged
Geoffrey_Coram
Senior Fellow

Massachusetts, USA
Re: Contribution statement
Reply #1 - Mar 25th, 2011, 5:08am

[quote author=eleckymess link=1300988590/0#0
Code:
@( condition 1 )
V(a,b) <+ c;
end 

[/quote]

The "@" is what makes this an analog event.

Quote:
It uses NC Verilog simulator, right?

NC Verilog is a digital Verilog simulator; you are using AMS, so I think you probably have Spectre running this module.

Quote: