The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 17th, 2024, 9:30am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
LNA Design (Read 6259 times)
chris2312

LNA Design
May 23rd, 2011, 9:32am

Hello,

I'm new in design of integrated circuits. I have to design a lna. I choosed cascode topology to achieve high gain at high frequencies. My problem is to find a bias point with minimum noise of the transistor. I have red that most lna's operate iun class-A, so you have to choose the bias current that Ic = Icmax/2. Othwerwise the shot noise oft the transistor will increase with high current, so i choosed a bias current which is smaller than Icmax/2. I plotted gm vs. NF to find a good tradeoff first for a common emitter stage. Now I want to do the same for the cascode to find an optimum, but I have no idea how to realize it, because of the bias voltage of the load transistor. Can you give me some hints ? Thanks for response.

View Profile   IP Logged
rfcooltools.com

Re: LNA Design
Reply #1 - May 23rd, 2011, 12:40pm

Chris2312,

The noise for the cascode stage will be degenerated by the output impedance of common emitter stage.  With that said size the cascode to operate at peak ft, then check the noise contribution, if negligible then stop otherwise increase the size until the tradeoff of bandwidth and noise is acceptable.

http://rfcooltools.com

View Profile   IP Logged
vp1953

Reply #2 - May 24th, 2011, 10:14am

Hi Chris 2312

I do not think LNA's operate like Class A power amps. Even before you get to zero current (due a large RF signal), there are some many issues relating to nonlinearity etc that prevent typical usage at high input power levels. There are some good examples in Tom Lee's book (most of which you can read online). Rfcooltools has provided a good summary of what needs to be done to reach noise-gain targets

View Profile   IP Logged
purplewolf

Reply #3 - May 28th, 2011, 2:21pm

@rfcooltools.com