The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 1st, 2024, 3:48pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Vco design (Read 4987 times)
andr.dimitris

Vco design
Sep 03rd, 2011, 12:23pm

I am a senior student in electrical engineering and for my thesis i am designing a pll. I have started with the design of the vco. However i am stuck because i can't get the same frequency when i use varactors (always applying the voltage that gives them the right capacitance) as when i design the oscillator at a steady frequency( 5Ghz). I've tried a lot of things, however i get frequencies much higher than expected. In order to achieve a 5Ghz frequency, i have to set large values to the varactors and the inductance(nH!!). I know that they are large enough as i have a frequeny of 5Ghz with values much lower (pF, pH). I attach a screenshot of the vco (only the varactors and mosfets). I suspect i have done something wrong with the wiring but i am not sure.
Does anyone have any idea?

vco.png
View Profile   IP Logged
rfidea

Europe
Re: Vco design
Reply #1 - Sep 3rd, 2011, 1:18pm

Strange! Have you measured the capaitance of the varactor with a simulation? Do it with an AC analysis to start with. In the VCO you will get some averaging of the capacitance which will reduce the capacitance. Be sure to measure the "hot" side of the varactor since you have a parasitic on the S/D side.

One more thing. You should swap one of the varactors so you get a symmetrical tank. Swap the right one to not load the tank with the S/D parasitic. (I do not think this is your problem. But if you have included the S/D parasitic in your capacitance estimate, maybe this is it.)

View Profile   IP Logged
andr.dimitris

Reply #2 - Sep 3rd, 2011, 7:39pm

I tried the swapping you mention, but i get no oscillation then, just noise.

View Profile   IP Logged
rfidea

Europe
Reply #3 - Sep 4th, 2011, 12:47am