The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Sep 3rd, 2024, 11:13pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
gm/Id Methodology (Read 7798 times)
vinaydreddys

Hyderabad
gm/Id Methodology
Oct 15th, 2011, 1:32am

Hi All,

I am a student of VLSI and new to Analog Design.

I have recently come across a methodology called the gm/id methodology which is claimed to be used for short channels.

I am interested to learn this methodology and is looking for guidance in this regard.

Thanks a lot in advance... Smiley
Vinay

View Profile vinaydreddys   IP Logged
raja.cedt
Senior Fellow

Germany
Re: gm/Id Methodology
Reply #1 - Oct 15th, 2011, 2:31am

hello,
yes you are correct, gm/id methodology is one of the best method to design op amps with lesser iterations. Please have look at this pdf

https://ccnet.stanford.edu/ee214b/

Thanks,
raj.

View Profile WWW raja.sekhar86   IP Logged
Larry_80
Community Member

Reply #2 - Oct 15th, 2011, 10:48pm

gm/id methodology is just a way of characterizing your device. So gm/Id is basically an Efficiency measurement for a certain device and can be used as a quick way to obtain various parameters that can be used in design of Op-Amps as mentioned by the poster above. gm/Id in a way can be used as a figure of merit for your device, though this will only take care of parameters like gain etc. Since in Analog design (and Digital), Gain trades with bandwidth, we need to be able to characterize the frequency at which our device will still work as an amplifier and not attenuator, so this requires another type of FOM (figure of Merit) that considers both gm/Id and frequency. Analog design is very interesting and if you really have a passion for it, the sky is the LIMIT.

View Profile   IP Logged
Larry_80
Community Member

Reply #3 - Oct 15th, 2011, 10:59pm