The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 7th, 2024, 5:28am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Different op amp open loop gains from analysis (Read 3758 times)
batmanbeginz

Different op amp open loop gains from analysis
Mar 20th, 2013, 2:25pm

Hi all,

I am new to analog design. I have created an op-amp schematic and tried to get open loop gain by 2 ways:
(Simulation uses cadence virtuoso)

1) Transient analysis: applied a ramp pulse of 0->VDD to +ve input [with a dc value of VDD/2] and kept -ve input to Vdd/2, then plotted Vout vs V+ and took its derivative, this gave me 1300

2) DC analysis: applied a  volt of 0->VDD at +ve volt and kept -ve input to VDD/2. Processed Vout as in step 1 and got ~ 50

I cannot believe what makes the 2 gains so different and which is correct ? Voltage supply is from 0->VDD.

Can someone help in this regard ?
Thanks a lot

View Profile   IP Logged
raja.cedt
Senior Fellow

Germany
Re: Different op amp open loop gains from analysis
Reply #1 - Mar 20th, 2013, 3:02pm

hello,
some thing wrong in your sim, please show the setup and results,
in most of the cases you would need small signal gain, so please connect in unity gain configuration and apply vdd/2(or some reasonable common mode) at the non-inverting terminal and find the loop gain.don't sweep input voltage for such a wide range in open loop it might saturate.

Keep in mind that large signal gain will always be grater than small signal gain.

Thanks,
Raj.

View Profile WWW raja.sekhar86   IP Logged
batmanbeginz

Reply #2 - Mar 20th, 2013, 3:15pm

Thanks, yeah I connected in unity gain configuration and output is not following input exactly [the opamp configuration is folded cascode and I am using verilog A based models in cadence spectre].