The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Sep 18th, 2024, 9:22am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
How to sizing the transistor in the analog circuit (Read 7733 times)
watt.xu

Florida
How to sizing the transistor in the analog circuit
Nov 03rd, 2013, 6:56am

Hi Guys:
I am a freshman in IC design. I confronted the sizing problem in biasing, start-up, CMFB, amflifier circuit.
Is there any rule of thumb, to sizing the W/L in every section.
For example, I know for current mirror we commonly use larger vdsat (smaller gm/id), for cascode small vdsat (larger gm/id). However, in light of gm, vdsat we expected, We calculate the W/L. The transisor is commonly not all in saturation. How could we deal with this situation. Is there any rules for tuning the W/L, and getting the gm and vdsat I needed.

Thanks guys :D

Watt

View Profile   IP Logged
analog geek

Re: How to sizing the transistor in the analog circuit
Reply #1 - Nov 3rd, 2013, 10:18am

Hi..
well i didnt understand what you want to do first...aspect ratio is inversely related to overdrive voltage of transistor..u can get their relationship from current equation also....it depends on what u want your transistor to do and to work in particular region....if u want more current u can increase aspect ration but that will affect ur vds sat. so u can either first fix ur current then get vds sat and u can find aspect ration..
there r many ways to do that..also if u know gm and id u can get minimum aspect ratio.
hope that helps

View Profile   IP Logged
watt.xu

Florida
Reply #2 - Nov 3rd, 2013, 8:58pm

Guy, Thank you.
I am sorry for my twisted description. To design an amplifier, I got the input transistor gm from the specs. I just wanna know whether  there are some rule of the thumb on how to decide the every transistor's vdsat, furthermore the size of the transistors, especially the length.~~ btw, How to tune the W/L ratio? is there any good advices?