The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Mar 29th, 2024, 5:31am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Hidden state problem: selective switching off and on at minimum of a sinewave (Read 2521 times)
Mauro

Hidden state problem: selective switching off and on at minimum of a sinewave
May 23rd, 2017, 2:38am

Hi all,

My name is Mauro and I am new to this forum. I am a Master student IC designer living in The Netherlands.
This is also my first post Smiley

Currently, I have the following problem with VerilogA: I cannot perform PSS simulations due to hidden states.
I have read earlier discussions on this forum related to this, I read the document specificly writtin by Ken ("Hidden States in SpectreRF" and tried something myself but it all did not work out unfortunately.

Hereby extra information:

Circuit information:
Oscillation signal (sinewave) has f_osc = 5 GHz
Offset is at Vdd = 1.2V
Amplitude is 0.2V
Voltage range oscillating signal: 1V < Vsignal < 1.4V
Circuit has start-up time (100ns) where Vsignal = Vdd = 1.2V
After that it starts building up oscillation until steady state

Goal of the module: switching off and on at minimum of a sinewave with 1000 periods inbetween

Initially the switch should be conducting (10 Ohms)
Start a counter at steady state oscillation (no counter during start-up) that counts the amount of periods of the sinewave
Stay switched on at the minimum of a sinewave after 1000 periods
Switch off exactly at minimum of a sinewave after 1000 periods
Switch on again at the minimum of a sinewave after 1000 periods etc.

Should operate in PSS&Pnoise analysis with Spectre

Problem: Hidden states in PSS due to r, counter and flag (transient is working)

So my input is a voltage sinewave and dependent on that I would like to switch off or on.

My code is in the attachment, please have a look. Otherwise the post would be relatively long, so I wanted to maintain clarity in this way.