The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 8th, 2024, 9:11pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
phase noise for oscillator (Read 5720 times)
Steven

phase noise for oscillator
May 22nd, 2003, 12:02pm

Hi I have designed an oscillator with 2.4G oscillation frequency. I am new to the phase noise simulation in SPectre. I followed the pss and pnoise set to simulate phase noise, it gives me error when running pss, complaining something like the oscillation node is too small relative to the period of oscillator. Can i know why?? I have tried using traponly method but still has this error.

Please advise. Thanks.

IP Logged
Jitter Man
Community Member

Am I? Or am I so
sane that u just
blew your mind?

Re: phase noise for oscillator
Reply #1 - May 27th, 2003, 9:44am

I suspect that either you did not start the oscillator, or the oscillation is quenched before the steady-state portion of the PSS analysis begins because you did not give it a large enough kick to get it started properly. You can use either initial conditions or a transient source to start the oscillator, as described in section 4.4.2 in The Designer's Guide to SPICE and Spectre by Kundert  (http://www.designers-guide.com/books.html).

The Jitter Man

View Profile WWW   IP Logged
junkwar2003

WA
Reply #2 - Jan 16th, 2004, 5:59pm

I ran into similar problem. Basically I placed a psin source driving a dummy ckt. and then it was fine. Also you must enable the ossillator option and select the driven and output node. When there are no periodic source in the schematic spectre gives that error for some reason [i used ipulse to kick start the ossc]. I am still novice in using spectre but someone else maybe able to better explain. But method i mentioned would get you around your problem.

Parag

View Profile   IP Logged
Jitter Man
Community Member

Am I? Or am I so
sane that u just
blew your mind?

Reply #3 - Jan 16th, 2004, 9:22pm

Junkwar,