The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 3rd, 2024, 3:06am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Why Mentor Mixed-signal tool? (Read 2638 times)
raymond_luo2003

Why Mentor Mixed-signal tool?
Apr 27th, 2005, 2:38am

Dear All,

I am a mixed-signal design engineer. I have been used Cadence tool and Synopsis tool for high speed analog IC design and mixed-signal simulation for quite while.

Recently, things is going to change: Our boss want to change all the analog/ mixed-signal tool from Cadence/Synopsis to Mentor Graphic, the REASON is Mentor offer us very attractive price for whole mixed-signal tool chain. I have none experience on the Mentor tool, but a quite vague impression of Mentor tool is that Calibre tool is good enough while the rest (schematic capture / simulation / full customer layout) might be not.

Can any guys with experience on both Cadence/Synopsis mixed-signal and Mentor mixed-signal share your experience?

Any advantage or disadvantage you feel in using Mentor Mixed-signal tool?
How about the foundry design kit support from TSMC, UMC and so on?

Thank you in advance!!

List of Mentor tool
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Schematic Capture
— Design Architect IC
Simulation
— Modelsim (Digital)
— Eldo (transistor level)
— A/MS with ADMS (single Kernal with Eldo and Modelsim together)
Full Custom Layout
— ICStation & IC Assemble
Physical Verification and Extraction
— Calibre & Calibre xRC
Post Layout Simulation
— ADMS

View Profile   IP Logged
Paul
Community Fellow

Switzerland
Re: Why Mentor Mixed-signal tool?
Reply #1 - Apr 28th, 2005, 12:46am

Raymond,

Regarding simulator comparison, you can have a look at the following posts on this forum:
http://www.designers-guide.org/Forum/?board=rfdesign;action=display;num=10660745...
http://www.designers-guide.org/Forum/?board=circuit;action=display;num=109419979...